The Student Parliament

In the Summersemester 2013 the „Organisationssatzung der Studierendenschaft der Hochschule für Musik Freiburg“(Organization rules of the student body of the Hochschule for Music Freiburg) was accepted by the student body. The first Student parliament (StuPa) was formed on that basis in the Wintersemester 2013/14. Since then the students of the MH Freiburg are a “Verfasste Studierendenschaft” (VS): an own autonomous member of the schools corporate body.

Organisationssatzung der Studierendenschaft der Hochschule für Musik Freiburg

What is the difference between StuPa and AStA?

The members of the VS (the students) form a plenum. Each semester they choose four student representatives who stay in office for a year. The total of eight representatives forms the Student parliament (StuPa), the legislative organ of the VS. At the beginning of the semester the StuPa chooses two members as their chairmen. The Chairmen are the executive and are called “Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss” (AStA) (General student committee).

Why does the StuPa call itself AStA?

At our school all of our representatives take care of executive tasks, so that the work load is distributed evenly between the chairmen and the representatives. That is why we still call ourselves the AStA.